DWI Offense in Texas (1st Offenders)
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is the crime of driving a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or other drugs (including recreational drugs and those prescribed by physicians), to a level that renders the driver incapable of operating a motor vehicle safely. In Texas, the penalties for DWI go beyond the court.
- First offense convictions of DWI in Texas carries a jail time of 3 to 180 days. With elevating factors when minors are involved.
- Fines not in excess of $2,000 applicable to regular DWI cases in Texas, but if minor present, fine maximums increased to not more than $10,000
- State of Texas also employs surcharge program for DWI offenders, which requires payment of $1,000 annually for three (3) years for offenders as part of DWI surcharge program. If BAC higher than .16, surcharge increased to $2,000 annually for period of three (3) years
- You will lose your license until an arrangement with the DMV is arranged for your surcharges
- Convictions remain on record and influence future DWI charges
There is Hope…
If you refused to blow, there are a lot of factors that need to be addressed. Did the officer have just cause to pull you over? Did he have just cause to take you out of your vehicle? Did he have just cause to administer a Field Sobriety test? Is the officer qualified to administer the test? Did he do it correctly?
I will evaluate your case and video with you. With my experience, we will dissect the event in question and prepare for the State’s case against you. DWI is a serious offense in Texas. You need an experienced attorney that will defend you.
What you do if suspected for DWI
- DO NOT BLOW
- Invoke your right to remain silent
- Request an attorney present for any further questioning
- Do not be fooled into scenarios presented to you
- If a warrant is presented for your blood; submit.
- Bond out of Jail and call Daniel Cleveland
With alcohol, a drunk driver’s level of intoxication is typically determined by a measurement of blood alcohol content or BAC; but this can also be expressed as a breath test measurement, often referred to as a BrAC. A BAC or BrAC measurement in excess of the specific threshold level, such as 0.08%, defines the criminal offense with no need to prove impairment. In other words, even if you are completely fine to drive if your level is higher than that you will be arrested.